--- title: "Deactivating User Account" slug: "deactivating-user-account" updated: 2025-09-23T04:31:53Z published: 2025-09-23T04:31:53Z canonical: "help.csgi.com/deactivating-user-account" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.csgi.com/docs/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deactivating User Account Client Admins can temporarily remove access for a user by deactivating their account. When an account is deactivated, the user cannot log in or use the platform until the account is reactivated. This action is fully auditable, with details of who performed the deactivation, when it occurred, and the reason provided during the process. ### Deactivation 1. Click on the **Edit** icon next to the required user account. 2. In the Account Details panel, select 'Deactivated' from the status dropdown. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c578bb14-e570-4b6e-93ed-f6c5b8a2d8a1/Images/Documentation/2025-09-08_23-54-54(1).png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T13%3A29%3A06Z&se=2026-10-26T14%3A29%3A06Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=bdWpa1%2BMyEdHUDc0gRtoCk93VOiGmZeK1WrGRpcx4Eg%3D) 3. The Deactivate User Account confirmation window appears with the message: “The user temporarily cannot access the account or log in. You can reactivate it at any time.” ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c578bb14-e570-4b6e-93ed-f6c5b8a2d8a1/Images/Documentation/2025-09-08_23-16-47.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T13%3A29%3A06Z&se=2026-10-26T14%3A29%3A06Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=bdWpa1%2BMyEdHUDc0gRtoCk93VOiGmZeK1WrGRpcx4Eg%3D) 4. Enter the reason for deactivation in the text box provided. This note will appear in the upper-right corner of the user’s profile for reference. 5. Click **Deactivate** to confirm. A success notification confirms that the account has been deactivated. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c578bb14-e570-4b6e-93ed-f6c5b8a2d8a1/Images/Documentation/2025-09-08_23-19-23.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T13%3A29%3A06Z&se=2026-10-26T14%3A29%3A06Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=bdWpa1%2BMyEdHUDc0gRtoCk93VOiGmZeK1WrGRpcx4Eg%3D) 6. Once completed, the user’s account is updated to Deactivated status, the reason is logged, and the action is recorded in the audit log. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/c578bb14-e570-4b6e-93ed-f6c5b8a2d8a1/Images/Documentation/2025-09-09_02-51-50.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-26T13%3A29%3A06Z&se=2026-10-26T14%3A29%3A06Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=bdWpa1%2BMyEdHUDc0gRtoCk93VOiGmZeK1WrGRpcx4Eg%3D)